Christianity spread through the area of Germany from the 3rd to the 12th century. In 1517, Martin Luther issued his 95 Theses at Wittenberg, which signalled the start of the Protestant Reformation. Today, Christians are about equally divided between Catholics and Protestants (of the territorial Lutheran, Reformed, and United churches), with a sizeable Orthodox minority (mostly due to immigration) and a number of Free churches, including Protestants as well as Pentecostals and others.

Most of the Orthodox churches are indirect members of the WCC through their Patriarchate, the Moravians and Anglicans through their wider church structures, and the Methodists through the United Methodist Church of which they are part.

The Council of Christian Churches in Germany is the ecumenical body, which includes the Catholic Church. The German Evangelical Alliance groups Evangelical Christians in the territorial churches and the Free churches, and is affiliated with the WEA. In 2000, the number of Evangelicals, Pentecostals and Charismatics was estimated at 6.3 percent of the total number of Christians.

* The churches marked with an asterisk are represented in the WCC through the Evangelical Church in Germany (EKD) but not counted as direct members.

Note: The list of churches present in countries/territories is still in development.