Evangelical Church in Germany

(Evangelische Kirche in Deutschland)

Twenty Lutheran, Reformed and United regional churches (Landeskirchen) form the Evangelical Church in Germany. German Protestant church structures are based on federal principles at all levels. Each local congregation is responsible for Christian life in its own area, while each regional church has its own special characteristics and retains its independence. Without in any way diminishing this autonomy, the EKD carries out joint tasks with which its members have entrusted it. The EKD has the following governing bodies, all organized and elected on democratic lines: the Synod, the Council and the Church Conference. They are responsible for fulfilling the EKD's tasks as laid down in the constitution of the EKD.

The EKD gives the territorial churches a common voice in their relationship to the state and the society and in ecumenical relationships.

Those territorial churches which followed the recommendation of the United Evangelical Lutheran Church in Germany (VELKD) in 1949 to apply directly for WCC membership are counted as direct members of the WCC (+), though they are represented in the WCC through the EKD.

The EKD has parishes and pastors in more than 60 countries. Through these and other contacts, it has a variety of partnerships and dialogues.

The Evangelical Church in Germany represents the following regional or territorial churches in the WCC: