Sudan Council of Churches

Due to the civil war which prevailed in Sudan for 21 years, the Sudan Council of Churches (SCC) that was founded in 1965 was unable to reach many in Southern and marginalized areas of Sudan. Thus, its member churches present in these areas formed the New Sudan Council of Churches (NSCC) in 1989. Despite operating as separate entities - one body with two faces - in northern and southern Sudan, the two councils worked together with their international partners and through the Sudan Ecumenical Forum for peace and justice in Sudan. The New Sudan Council of Churches and Sudan Council of Churches merged into the Sudan Council of Churches in May 2007.

As South Sudan became an independent country in 2011, the decision to establish two separate ecumenical organizations for the two countries was reached through a lengthy process undertaken at the SCC’s 20th General Assembly from 3 to 7 July 2013 in Nairobi, Kenya. Read more: WCC press release of 30 July 2013

The current SCC mission covers civic education, advocacy, peace and reconciliation, relief and development services. These activities were all carried out either directly by the SCC or indirectly through its member churches.